South Jersey Transportation Planning Organization

South Jersey Transportation Planning Organization


View Current Funded Projects

Boards & Committees

Access Information Regarding Boards and Committees

Document Library

Explore SJTPO’s Extensive Document Library

Safety Education

Learn about and request traffic safety programs


$21.1 Million in Grants Awarded for the SRTS Program

On Wednesday, July 10, 2024, the New Jersey Department of Transportation (NJDOT) announced the awarding of $21.1 million in grants for the Safe Routes to School (SRTS) program. This grant awarding is larger than the amount bestowed to recipients during the last solicitation in 2022.

The SRTS program is a federally funded, statewide initiative to increase pedestrian safety among motorists and school-aged children. NJDOT administers the program in partnership with New Jersey’s three Metropolitan Planning Organizations – SJTPO, the Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission (DVRPC), and the North Jersey Transportation Planning Authority (NJTPA).

The SRTS program’s mission is to partner with schools and local communities to enable and encourage school-age children to walk, bike, or travel by other wheeled devices to school. More than just a safety initiative, the SRTS program also aims to make walking, bicycling, and wheeling to school a safer and more appealing transportation alternative, fostering a healthy and active lifestyle from an early age. Projects and activities are designed to improve safety, reduce traffic, lessen fuel consumption, and decrease air pollution near schools.

Of the 23 grants awarded, three totaling $2.1 million are within the SJTPO region, four totaling $5.0 million are within the DVRPC region, and the NJTPA region receives 16 grants totaling $14.0 million.

The first project in the SJTPO region is in Linwood, Atlantic County, and it is referred to as the “City of Linwood Pedestrian Improvement Project.” This project is focused on Belhaven Middle School and Seaview Elementary School. The project includes repairing existing sidewalks, installing new sidewalks, and installing flashing pedestrian beacons at intersections. The grant award for this project is $376,000.

The “Somers Point School Safety Project” in Somers Point, Atlantic County, is being awarded $771,000. This project is focused on Jordon Road School and the Dawes Avenue School. It includes installing curb extensions, Rectangular Rapid Flashing Beacons at intersections, sidewalk and curb improvements, and radar feedback signs.

The third and final project is in Upper Township, Cape May County, called the “Upper Township School District Pedestrian and Bike Safety Project.” It is focused on the Upper Township Primary School and the Upper Township Elementary School. The project includes installing new dedicated bike lanes, new sidewalks, and crosswalks with flashing pedestrian beacon signs. The grant award for this project is $925,000.

SJTPO is pleased that these projects were selected to receive funding. For questions pertaining to the projects in SJTPO’s region, please contact Jenna Monaghan at .

Regions Served by SJTPO

New Jersey flag flying next to USA flagThe South Jersey Transportation Planning Organization engages in various local and regional planning projects throughout the counties of Atlantic, Cumberland, Cape May, and Salem.

Map of the SJTPO Service Area
Atlantic County Cape May County Cumberland County Salem County

Atlantic County

Sign for Historic Mays Landing

As of the 2020 census, the county was the state's 15th-most-populous county with a population of 274,534. Its county seat is the Mays Landing section of Hamilton Township.

The most populous place in Atlantic County was Egg Harbor Township, with 47,842 residents as of the 2020 census. Galloway Township, covering 115.21 square miles, has the largest total area of any municipality, though Hamilton Township has the largest land area, covering 111.13 square miles.

Cape May County

Boat on beach that says "Cape May" on side

Cape May County is the southernmost county in the state, with much of the county is located on the Cape May peninsula, bound by the Delaware Bay to its west and the Atlantic Ocean to its south and east.

Adjacent to the Atlantic coastline are five barrier islands that have been built up as seaside resorts. A consistently popular summer destination with 30 miles of beaches, Cape May County attracts vacationers from New Jersey and surrounding states, with the summer population exceeding 750,000.

Tourism is the county's single largest industry and the associated leisure and hospitality industries are Cape May's largest employers. Its county seat is the Cape May Court House section of Middle Township. As of the 2020 census, the county was the state's second-least populous county with a population of 95,263.

Cumberland County

Wildlife management area sign in green grass

As of the 2020 census, the county is the state's 16th-most-populous county with a population of 154,152. Its county seat is Bridgeton. Cumberland County is named for Prince William, Duke of Cumberland and was formally created from portions of Salem County in 1748.

The most populous municipality is Vineland, with a 2020 population of 60,780. The largest municipality by area is Maurice River Township, covering 95.76 square miles.

Salem County

Grain storage bins with green crops in foreground

Salem County is the westernmost county in the state of New Jersey. Its western boundary is formed by the Delaware River and  the Delaware Memorial Bridge connects the county with New Castle, DE. Its county seat is Salem.

As of the 2020 census, the county retained its position as the state's least-populous county with a population of 64,837. The most populous place in Salem County is Pennsville Township with 12,684 residents as of the 2020 Census. Lower Alloways Creek Township covers 72.46 square miles, the largest total area of any municipality.

Partner Agencies

NJ Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Dept. of Transportation
South Jersey Transportation Authority
NJ Turnpike Authority
NJ Transit Authority
Cross County Connection
Delaware River & Bay Authority